Posted by: heartsleeve | June 23, 2007

Time

I used to love Austin. I thought it was the best city in the entire world, and I didn’t think I would ever want to leave. The longer I’m here, though, the more people leave and the lonelier it gets. Plus, I guess it all changes as you get older and your interests change, you change.

It’s strange to look around you, and the scenery is the same, but all the people have changed. Three of my really good friends are now married, and one of them moved halfway across the country. Another friend moved halfway across the country in another direction. Another is riding her bicycle halfway across the country this summer, and I think when she comes back, she’ll be so different none of us will recognize her. Another friend moved to another city which isn’t far away, really, but might as well be the other side of the world. And others just seem to be growing up and moving on.

Sometimes I feel like I’m stagnating here, like everyone is growing up and going away, leaving me behind. I know, though, that soon enough I’ll be leaving all of them, even though I didn’t think it was possible. I’m going to miss everyone terribly, but most of the time I find that I already do. I think I’ve done all I can do here. I’ve become everything I was meant to become.

I’ve changed. I’ve worked so hard and lost so much. I was happy here. I’m not anymore, though. It’s time.

I’ve had some time to think about you,
On the long ride home…

Responses

  1. I’m really looking forward to following your life these next several weeks (in a totally non-creepy, non-stalkerish way!) and seeing where you end up. Go forward confident and open to new possibilities and experiences…and then promptly blog about them so that I may pretend to lead an exciting life myself! Good luck Katie. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. You’re such a stalker. ๐Ÿ˜› I miss you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

